NOS OFFRES | LA BAULE | COUP DE COEUR | ACTU |+33 ( 0)2 40 60 29 30 | | |
  • fr

Book now

Best Rates Guaranteed

Arriving

Departing

Adult(s)

Guest Reviews

Guest Reviews

“Good value 3 star hotel”

Good location, an easy walk to town. Our room was a little small but, quite honestly, at only 65Euros a night we were not complaining! Charming lady proprietor, rooms clean and well equipped. Would definitely stay there again.

October 2016


“Excellent 3 star hotel”

Well located, neat small peaceful hotel in a beautiful traditional house. Small but nice little garden. Outdoor breakfast is an option very much appreciated in summer. Very friendly and welcoming staff. Very good value for money. Would definitely come back again.

August 2016


“A charming hotel”

I would certainly recommend this hotel, it is quiet and beautifully decorated. Madame is charming and helpful and we managed very well with my poor French and her English. We stayed in a superior room with a small balcony.
We were pleased that it was a traditional building and did not look soulless like so many of the blocks on the sea front.

Susan B – September 2015


“The Personal Touch”

My wife and i were part of a group of friends who had travelled to la baule for a friend’s wedding. villa cap d’ail served us perfectly because it’s like a big home with rooms of varying sizes to suit all budgets. we splurged on a one-bedroom suite with balconies. the bathroom was a good size and we had a living room with a small fridge. there was a small cupboard with a few coat hangers and a safe – always invaluable. the bed was queen-sized and we slept very well.

breakfast was a continental affair, with plenty of croissants and french sticks, cereals, yoghurts, cheeses, slices of ham and boiled eggs, juices, tea and coffee. from memory it was €12 per person which i think was fair enough.

the staff here though are the greatest asset, all very warm and welcoming. it makes all the difference when you’re made to feel genuinely welcome, which is why staying here feels like you’re being welcomed into a big family home.

Capt_Funkelicious – August 2015


“Very nice place to stay, very recommendable”

The location of the hotel has good and not so good aspects. It’s a 15-20 minute walk from the main street of La Baule (not so good), but it’s 200m from the beach and the Casino area which is very chic and beautiful and surrounded by beautiful houses and villas (very nice). There are a couple of restaurants to choose from close by, but not too many and so if you want to be “in the middle of it all” it’s not ideal. If you don’t mind the walk, which we didn’t, it’s ideally located.

The room was large, faithful to internet photos and we were assisted by the hotel in choosing our room with baby when booking. We had a baby travel-bed for 5 EUR a night which was very nice because in lots of places it’s 15 EUR a night, which honestly I feel is outrageous. The room was perfect for us, not too small so baby wouldn’t have space, not so big that’d we’d have to run around after him. Nice cushy bed, carpet and decoration in general.

The hotel has a garden in the front and a lovely paved area at the back to sunbathe or eat at several tables. Again, great with a child/children.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, giving us full access to the kitchen so we could heat baby food and use cutlery and things at night. We didn’t make it to breakfast, but we saw people eating outside and it looked very nice.

We were worried about our toddler making noise and disturbing other guests but a) the rooms seemed to be very well insulated and b) the hotel staff were very friendly and reinsuring and made us feel very welcome with a small child.

The only thing that was a bit of a pity was that in our room there wasn’t a very good internet/wifi connection. There is an excellent connection in the reception area and we didn’t say anything about our room, so to be fair maybe something could have been done about it.

Sophie0276 – July 2015


“A lovely hotel in quiet La Baula”

This is a lovely hotel, a little walk to both the town centre and the sea, but very conveniently placed for the main routes in and out of the town. It is surprisingly quiet, very charmingly appointed and the rooms are beautiful. The breakfast was superb and excellent value. Highly recommended and very good value.

DebShotton – June 2015


“La Baule Horseshow 2015”

We stayed in this hotel for the La Baule Horseshow. The place was lovely and the staff were so nice and accommodating. The rooms are small but very clean and comfortable, it is 2 mins from the Beach and the Horse show grounds so for us it was the perfect location.

Annnolan2015 – June 2015


“La Baule Horseshow 2015”

We stayed in this hotel for the La Baule Horseshow. The place was lovely and the staff were so nice and accommodating. The rooms are small but very clean and comfortable, it is 2 mins from the Beach and the Horse show grounds so for us it was the perfect location.

Annnolan2015 – June 2015


“Bliss!”

We loved this hotel from the moment we arrived! Every detail is perfect, from the well-decorated and furnished rooms, to the charming staff and superb breakfast. The building is gorgeous and the owners have done everything to maintain its charm, while running a well-oiled business. We went in October, and it was deservedly full. Our room, on the ground floor, opened on to a delightful courtyard, where garden furniture was available for guests to sit in the sun.
Our only (tiny) complaint was that the wifi did not work in our room, but we were able to sit in the reception area, where sofas, magazines and armchairs were provided for guests.
The hotel is a short walk from the sea front, but we chose to drive into the centre of town to find a restaurant in the evening. We were able to park almost wherever we pleased free of charge, as parking fees do not apply except in July and August.
The whole area near the hotel is very pleasant, with small lanes flanked by pretty villas and beautiful houses. Beyond the town are marshes, so bring a mosquito-guard spray or roll-on (we were bitten, even in October).

ZacDorset – October 2014


“Excellence!”

Honestly, you couldn’t get a better hotel for warmth of welcome, convenience, and the human touch. It’s situated really well for the town, the beach and the port – so lots of restaurants within a short (or long, if you prefer) stroll. The owners are lovely people – warm, welcoming and extremely helpful. The rooms aren’t huge, but you wouldn’t expect them to be in a hotel of this kind … and they’re well appointed with everything you need. We had a great stay – many thanks

St_Ogpan London – September 2014


“A delightful hotel with delightful owners”

This is such a delightful hotel! We were greeted with a warm welcome from the owners on arrival. The decor throughout the hotel is tasteful and our room was comfortable and spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was plentiful and fresh and it is obvious that a great deal of effort goes into ensuring the comfort and happiness of guests.

Would we return – without hesitation!

Lovetravelx – May 2014


“Perfect French hotel experience”

It was our second time at the Villa Cap d’Ail hotel and this time I felt I had to write a review. Sheltering from the buffeting rain and showers of the Bay of St Nazaire, they aren’t many hotels where you can have such a comfortable time in such conditions without feeling a bit glum.

The wonderfully, old fashioned politeness of the staff and flashes of witty humour, alongside the excellent standard of housekeeping and overall comfort and style make this the number one mid price place to stay in La Baule.

The breakfast was excellent; plentiful and of good quality in a relaxed and pleasant environment.

Parking was very easy – outside the months of July and August, it’s free and readily available in adjacent streets.

Would recommend wholeheartedly!

MissPassepartout – Sept 2013


“Recommend”

We stayed here for three nights early June
The hotel is a very stylish boutique small hotel set in lovely gardens. It has been recently refurbished and is very clean. The beds are firm and good quality.
Breakfast is limited to a continental buffet with hams and cheese. The coffee is excellent.
The weather was not too sunny when we were there, but the owner took the trouble to suggest some places to visit as we were new to the area. Piriac sur Mer, St Nazaire and Guerande are all within 10-20mins and proved very scenic. St Nazaire is not, but you can get inside a submarine.
There is a restaurant called L,Avenue within 2 mins walk which offers a three course meal lunch for dinner for 10 Euros, amazing!
The centre of La Baule is expensive, but if you want a quiet hotel near the beach and some restaurants, you can’t go wrong.

ScottandLinda – June 2013


“Well appointed room and a lovely welcome”

This small hotel has lovely, well appointed bedrooms and is very well kept. The welcome from the lady on reception was also really friendly. It’s 5 mins walk to the beach and there are plenty of places to eat nearby, so all in all a really good choice for a reasonable price.

Chris K – Sept 2012


“Beautiful boutique style hotel”

We stayed here for one night in June 2012. The hotel is really easy to find and is a two minute walk to the beach. The staff were helpful and the hotel was really clean. The continental style breakfast was delicious, with bread fresh from the oven. We rented bicycles from the hotel for 5euro each for half a day. They recommended places we should visit, and it was a great way to see the town and surrounding area.

BlastaCork- June 2012


“A super hotel, very friendly and helpful, good location,”

We stayed here for 5 nights in a family room that was actually two rooms (one with king bed and one with a sofa that converted to two single beds for the children (both primary school age; the beds were 2′ 6″ wide so a bit small for teenagers perhaps), and with a big shower room. The hotel went to a lot of trouble to make sure we had everything we needed, and the staff came every night to put the beds out for the children (even arranging our son’s soft toys beautifully much to our amusement and his pleasure!). It’s a 10 minute walk to the beach and a 20 minute walk to the centre of town. Parking is free in the roads behind the hotel so we parked around the corner just a 4 minute walk and it’s no problem to pull up on the pavement outside if you’re loading/unloading luggage. All the roads in front of the hotel between the hotel and beach have parking on a meter (1 euro for 1 hour). The hotel was very clean, lovely bed-linen and chic decor, we were on the top floor (no lift) but that was great because there was no risk of noise from rooms above, our windows had electric shutters (the kids loved them!) and it was reasonably quiet at night although the hotel is on a main road. The fact that our bathroom door didn’t shut at all was a bit quirky but we just put something in front of it to keep it closed and it wasn’t a problem. I would have mentioned it to the reception staff but there was only one person with good English and I forgot. No mosquitos! Breakfast is good value at 10 euro for adults and 7 euro for children and included juice, cereal, pastries, ham, cheese, great coffee, etc and has a long window serving from 8 to 11am. It’s a very well kept hotel and we were pleased to see it was upgraded to a 3 star earlier this year as they deserve 3 stars. All the staff were very friendly. La Baule is a 99.8% French resort, we only heard one English voice and one German voice all week. The only downside of this is that unless your French is good it’s hard to access information on things to do/places to go as even the leaflets in the tourist office were all in French, although the man on the desk spoke reasonable English. It is a very upmarket resort and we did find it expensive. The prices in the restaurants are similar to Paris. For example the cheapest moules/frites was 10 Euros and the cheapest pizza was 12 Euros. Lots of designer shops, well dressed adults and exquisitely dressed children, flashy cars etc. The crazy golf near the hotel was a fun thing to do but a bit pricey at 28 euros for 2 adults and 2 children under 12. The beach is beautiful with lots of shells so we were glad of beach shoes. The nearby town of Guerande is a must if you visit this area. We really felt as though we were in France with French people rather than in a holiday resort with tourists of all nationalities. So it was great for practising the language and our children enjoyed making an effort in shops and restaurants. We did find it difficult to eat as late as the French because none of the restaurants opened earlier than 7pm and that was sometimes a bit late for tired children. The traffic going into town in the evening was bad so it’s better to go along the beach road and then turn up towards the centre when you’re just past the town. Parking around town is easy as there are many residential areas you can park in within a 5-10 minute walk. If you want guaranteed sun/hot weather then you probably need to be further south but this resort is only a 3-3.5 hour drive from Roscoff and has a great beach and some more cultural things within an easy drive.

Maryindevon- August 2010


“A refreshing stay with 2 young children”

In August we made a road trip with our two young children aged 3 and 1 year. Our 3,500km, 2 week trip took us to La Baule.

The hotel looks as good inthe flesh as it does on the website as is very close to the beach and shops.

When we arrived the considerate staff had placed us on the ground floor with two bedrooms connected via a sliding doorway. The electric shutters meant the rooms could be darkened thus our 1 year old enjoyed daytime naps and both children and parents slept well.

Breakfast was also ideal with children as ‘mini’ croissants, were on offer as well as a wide selection of fresh goods.

The staff were friendly and child friendly too. The only concern is the on-street parking, but this is inexpensive and we found a space on the road opposite.

Milkegg- August 2008

Source : Tripadvisor

CONTACT

Hôtel Villa Cap d'Ail
145 Avenue du Maréchal de
Lattre de Tassigny

44500 La Baule EscoublacFrance

+33(0)2 40 60 29 30

Démarche éco-responsable

Suivez-nous

OFFICIAL SITE

Site Officiel Villa Cap d'ail, Hôtel de charme à La BauleAvis clients Villa Cap d'ail, Hôtel de charme à La Baule